Friday

THE HOUSE OF SILK – REVIEW BY MRS V

I will admit that I am always a bit sceptical about new books that use someone else’s well-established characters, but I am such a huge Sherlock Holmes fan that I had to give this a try, in fact I was so keen that I asked for it for Christmas. And (although I haven’t finished it yet) so far it hasn’t disappointed me at all. As in all the Sherlock Holmes stories, it is told by Dr. John Watson – and Dr. Watson sounds right, so you very quickly forget that you are not reading one of the original books and just get caught up in the very exciting story. Like the originals it moves fast, and although Anthony Horowitz refers to the other tales (and this is in fact set in the middle of the series) the book doesn’t rely on them so it would be quite possible to read this as a stand-alone story.

But why wouldn’t you want to read the others too?

I only have one regret and that is that I bought this as an ebook, so I missed out on having a copy with the gorgeous tactile black and red cover.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *